Meteorological Office Data Sheets, Articles & Photographs

This content is added courtesy of and with many thanks to the Meteorological Office (and for many, the Environment Agency also)

‘Rainfall Record for August 16, 2020 & Storm Christoph 18-20 January, 2021’ (Page 1): stithiansweather.co.uk/rainfall-record-for-august-2020-storm-christoph-january-18-20-2021-page-1/

‘Storm Christoph January 18-20, 2021’ (Page 2): stithiansweather.co.uk/storm-christoph-january-18-20-2021-page-2/

‘Storm Christoph January 18-20, 2021 & Winter 2020/2021:’ (Page 3): stithiansweather.co.uk/storm-christoph-january-18-20-2021-winter-2020-2021-page-3/

‘Spring & Summer 2021’ (Page 4): stithiansweather.co.uk/spring-summer-2021-page-4/

‘Summer 2021 Continued’ (Page 5): stithiansweather.co.uk/summer-2021-continued-page-5/

Rainfall 2021 (UK) Page 1: stithiansweather.co.uk/rainfall-2021-uk-page-1/

Rainfall 2021: (UK) Page 2: stithiansweather.co.uk/rainfall-2021-uk-page-2-2/

‘Storm ‘Dennis’ 15-17 February, 2020′ : stithiansweather.co.uk/storm-dennis-15th-17th-february-2020-2/

‘August Heat Wave 2020’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/august-heat-wave-2020/

‘Summer Summary 2020’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/summer-summary-2020/

‘Storm ‘Alex’ and heavy rain: 02-04 October, 2020′ : stithiansweather.co.uk/storm-alex-and-heavy-rain-02nd-04th-october-2020/

Rainfall 2020 (UK) Page 1 : stithiansweather.co.uk/rainfall-2020-uk-page-1/

Rainfall 2020 (UK) Page 2 : stithiansweather.co.uk/rainfall-2020-uk-page-2/

‘Storm ‘Erik’ 8 February, 2019′ : stithiansweather.co.uk/storm-erik-8-february-2019/

‘Storm ‘Freya’ 3 March, 2019′ : stithiansweather.co.uk/storm-freya-3-march-2019/

‘Severe flooding South Yorkshire, November 2019’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/severe-flooding-south-yorkshire-november-2019/

Summer 2019 (UK) Page 1: stithiansweather.co.uk/summer-2019-uk-page-1/

Summer 2019 (UK) Page 2: stithiansweather.co.uk/summer-2019-uk-page-2/

Rainfall 2019 (UK) Page 1: stithiansweather.co.uk/rainfall-2019-uk-page-1/

Rainfall 2019 (UK) Page 2: stithiansweather.co.uk/rainfall-2019-uk-page-2/

2018: ‘The Beast From The East’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/2018-the-beast-from-the-east/

2018: ‘Summer 2018’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/2018-summer-2018/

2018: ‘Strong winds and heavy rain from storm Callum’: stithiansweather.co.uk/2018-strong-winds-heavy-rain-from-storm-callum/

‘Anniversary of the Great Storm of 1987’. Page 1. stithiansweather.co.uk/anniversary-of-the-great-storm-of-1987-page-1/

‘Anniversary of the Great Storm of 1987’. Page 2. stithiansweather.co.uk/anniversary-of-the-great-storm-of-1987-page-2/

‘Flash Flooding in Coverack, Cornwall, 18 July 2017’. Page 1. stithiansweather.co.uk/flash-flooding-in-coverack-cornwall-18-july-2017-page-1/

‘Flash Flooding in Coverack, Cornwall, 18 July 2017’. Page 2. stithiansweather.co.uk/flash-flooding-in-coverack-cornwall-18-july-2017-page-2/

‘Ex-Hurricane Ophelia 16 October 2017’. Page 1. stithiansweather.co.uk/ex-hurricane-ophelia-16-october-2017-page-1/

‘Ex-Hurricane Ophelia 16 October 2017’. Page 2. stithiansweather.co.uk/ex-hurricane-ophelia-16-october-2017-page-2/

‘U.K. Seasonal Rainfall 2017’. stithiansweather.co.uk/u-k-seasonal-rainfall-2017/

‘England Rainfall: 31 Oct, 2017-31 Oct, 2018’: stithiansweather.co.uk/england-rainfall-31-oct-2017-31-oct-2018/

‘England Rainfall: November 2017-October 2018’: stithiansweather.co.uk/england-rainfall-november-2017-october-2018/

‘100 Years of NWP’: Lewis Fry Richardson – A real Numerical Weather Prediction pioneer! stithiansweather.co.uk/2017-100-years-of-nwp/

‘England Rainfall: 31 Oct, 2016-31 Oct, 2017’:

stithiansweather.co.uk/england-rainfall-31-oct-2016-31-oct-2017/

‘England Rainfall: November 2016-October 2017’:

stithiansweather.co.uk/england-rainfall-november-2016-october-2017/

‘England Rainfall: 31 Oct, 2015-31 Oct, 2016’: stithiansweather.co.uk/england-rainfall-31-oct-2015-31-oct-2016/

‘England Rainfall: November 2015-October 2016’: stithiansweather.co.uk/england-rainfall-november-2015-october-2016/

‘Spring & Summer 2016’: stithiansweather.co.uk/spring-summer-2016-2/

‘Winter 2016’: stithiansweather.co.uk/winter-2016-2/

‘UK Winter Storms 9 to 15 January 2015’: stithiansweather.co.uk/uk-winter-storms-9-to-15-january-2015/

‘Summer 2015: June, July & August: stithiansweather.co.uk/summer-2015-june-july-august/

‘Autumn Storms November 2015’: stithiansweather.co.uk/autumn-storms-november-2015/

‘New November temperature record 1 November 2015’: stithiansweather.co.uk/new-november-temperature-record-1st-november-2015/

‘Storm Desmond 4 to 6 December 2015’: stithiansweather.co.uk/storm-desmond-4-to-6-december-2015/

‘Storm Desmond Rainfall Totals: 4-6 December, 2015’: stithiansweather.co.uk/storm-desmond-rainfall-totals-4-6-dec-2015/

‘January 2014 Rainfall Amount’: stithiansweather.co.uk/january-2014-rainfall-amount/

‘January rainfall totals (mm) 1910-2014’: stithiansweather.co.uk/january-rainfall-totals-mm-1910-2014/

‘Summer 2014 (including Rainfall Amount)’: stithiansweather.co.uk/summer-2014-including-rainfall-amount/

‘A very dry September 2014 (including Rainfall Amount)’: stithiansweather.co.uk/a-very-dry-september-2014-including-rainfall-amount/

‘Snow and low temperatures late March 2013’: stithiansweather.co.uk/snow-and-low-temperatures-late-march-2013/

‘Weather data late March 2013’: stithiansweather.co.uk/weather-data-late-march-2013/

‘Historical context late March 2013’: stithiansweather.co.uk/historical-context-late-march-2013/

‘Hot dry spell July 2013’: stithiansweather.co.uk/hot-dry-spell-july-2013/

‘Rainfall Totals 19-day period 3 to 21 July 2013’: stithiansweather.co.uk/rainfall-totals-19-day-period-3-to-21-july-2013/

‘Autumn storm, October 2013’: stithiansweather.co.uk/autumn-storm-october-2013/

‘Analysis chart 0600Z Mon 28 Oct 2013 & M.S.L. pressure 27-29 October 2013’: stithiansweather.co.uk/analysis-chart-0600z-mon-28-oct-2013-msl-pressure-27-29-oct-2013/

‘Comparison with other storms (28 Oct 2013)’: stithiansweather.co.uk/comparison-with-other-storms-28-oct-2013/

‘Storm comparison 28 Oct 2013 (Continued)’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/storm-comparison-28-oct-2013-continued/

‘From drought to flood (2012)’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/from-drought-to-flood-2012/

‘Then the rain started (2012)’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/then-the-rain-started-2012/

‘The Great Storm 25 years on – 15 October, 1987’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/the-great-storm-25-years-on-15-october-1987/ (Please note that the ‘sting-jet’ website link mentioned in the text no longer exists – it will instead take you to the Met. Office’s latest website to date)!

‘Lack of Rainfall in the Midlands – November 2010 to October 2011 Rainfall’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/lack-of-rainfall-in-the-midlands-november-2010-october-2011-rainfall/

‘A look back over 2010 – January’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/a-look-back-over-2010-january/

‘A look back over 2010 – February to June’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/a-look-back-over-2010-february-to-june-/

‘A look back over 2010 – June to October’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/a-look-back-over-2010-june-to-october/

‘A look back over 2010 – October (& Joining Forces)’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/a-look-back-over-2010-october-joining-forces/

‘Upgrading our radars’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/upgrading-our-radars-2010/

‘A look back over 2009 – January to May’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/a-look-back-over-2009-january-to-may/

‘A look back over 2009 – June to August’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/a-look-back-over-june-to-august/

‘A look back over 2009 – September to October (+ Early indications for Winter 2009/10)’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/a-look-back-over-2009-september-to-october-early-indications-for-winter-2009-10/

‘Solar Eclipse Weather at Beaufort Park – 11th August, 1999’: stithiansweather.co.uk/solar-eclipse-weather-at-beaufort-park-11th-august-1999/

Meteorological Office Monthly Weather Report: December 1991: stithiansweather.co.uk/meteorological-office-monthly-weather-report-december-1991/

British Isles Rainfall: December 1991: stithiansweather.co.uk/british-isles-rainfall-december-1991/

British Isles Pressure, Sunshine, Mean Temperature & Soil Temperatures: December 1991: stithiansweather.co.uk/british-isles-pressure-sunshine-mean-temperature-soil-temperatures-december-1991/

British Isles Solar Radiation: December 1991: stithiansweather.co.uk/british-isles-solar-radiation-december-1991/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 1) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-1/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 2) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-2/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 3) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-3/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 4) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-4/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 5) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-5/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 6) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-6/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 7) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-7/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 8) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-8/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 9) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of -daily-observations-december-1991-page-9/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 10) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-10/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 11) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-11/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 12) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-12/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 13) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-13/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 14) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-14/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 15) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-15/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 16) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-16/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 17) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-17/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 18) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-18/

Summary of Daily Observations: December 1991: (Page 19) stithiansweather.co.uk/summary-of-daily-observations-december-1991-page-19/

’25th January, 1990 – A Notable Storm! (1200Z plotted Analysis chart)’: stithiansweather.co.uk/25th-january-1990-another-notable-storm/

MISCELLANEOUS: This section deals with registered Meteorological Office rainfall station observations. This includes the taking of and the quality of the readings, as well as the exposure of the raingauge site. There are links to the ‘History of the Rain Gauge’, Average Annual Rainfall & the extent of the raingauge network across the British Isles. Also, at the foot of the page is a link to the Meteorological Office ‘Weather Observations Website’ (WOW) which was launched in 2011 & is proving to be very successful!

‘British Rainfall Network 2012 – Your’e never very far from a raingauge’: stithiansweather.co.uk/youre-never-very-far-from-a-raingauge-british-rainfall-network-2012/

A history of the rain gauge. Page 1. 1999: stithiansweather.co.uk/a-history-of-the-rain-gauge-page-1-1999/

A history of the rain gauge. Page 2. 1999: stithiansweather.co.uk/a-history-of-the-rain-gauge-page-2-1999/

Daily Rainfall Stations – 1999: stithiansweather.co.uk/daily-rainfall-stations-1999/

Average Annual Rainfall 1916-1950: stithiansweather.co.uk/average-annual-rainfall-1916-1950/

‘A note about rainfall series’: stithiansweather.co.uk/a-note-about-rainfall-series/

‘Handy hints for reading and recording rainfall information’: stithiansweather.co.uk/handy-hints-for-reading-and-recording-rainfall-information/

‘More snow wanted this winter’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/more-snow-wanted-this-winter/

‘More snow wanted this winter (continued) & Checking raingauge exposure’ : stithiansweather.co.uk/more-snow-wanted-this-winter-continued-and-checking-raingauge-exposure/

‘Rainfall Card Remarks’: stithiansweather.co.uk/rainfall-card-remarks/

‘Rain Gauge General Maintenance’: stithiansweather.co.uk/rain-gauge-general-maintenance/

‘Weather Observations Website (WOW): stithiansweather.co.uk/weather-observations-website-wow/ (Please note that since this original map was produced by the Meteorological Office, then the amount of contributing stations are likely to have increased very considerably since then!)